Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Office of the President

Shared Governance

About Shared Governance

SDSU governing bodies include the Office of the President, Associated Students, and the University Senate.

Moreover, each member of the SDSU community, be it faculty, staff or student, shares responsibility for reaching collective decisions on matters of policy and procedure.  

 

University Senate

The University Senate, comprised of faculty, staff and students, considers a wide range of issues, including:

  • Academic policy, including admissions, curricula, and criteria for the granting of degrees
  • Advising the president in the selection of administrative personnel

More information about the University Senate is available at the senate website.

SDSU Senate Officers 2016-17

Marcie Bober-Michel
Chair
bober@mail.sdsu.edu

Cezar Ornatowski
Vice Chair
ornat@mail.sdsu.edu

Karen Cadiero-Kaplan
Secretary
kcadiero@mail.sdsu.edu

Tanya Calienta
Administrative Analyst/Specialist
senate@mail.sdsu.edu

Associated Students

Associated Students creates, promotes and funds social, recreational, cultural and educational programs and facilities.

The student-directed organization advocates for student interests, provides leadership opportunities and participates in the university's shared governance.

More information about Associated students is available at as.sdsu.edu.

Executive Officers 2016-17

Jamie Miller
President
jmiller@mail.sdsu.edu

Patty Masengale
Executive Vice President
pmasengale@mail.sdsu.edu

Dylan Colliflower 
Vice President of External Relations
dcolliflower@mail.sdsu.edu 

Alexander Shapiro 
Vice President of Financial Affairs
alexander.shapiro@mail.sdsu.edu  

Chimezie Ebiriekwe
Vice President of University Affairs
cebiriekwe@mail.sdsu.edu