Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Office of the President

Shared Governance

About Shared Governance

SDSU governing bodies include the Office of the President, Associated Students, and the University Senate.

Moreover, each member of the SDSU community, be it faculty, staff or student, shares responsibility for reaching collective decisions on matters of policy and procedure.  


University Senate

The University Senate, comprised of faculty, staff and students, considers a wide range of issues, including:

  • Academic policy, including admissions, curricula, and criteria for the granting of degrees
  • Advising the president in the selection of administrative personnel

More information about the University Senate is available at the senate website.

SDSU Senate Officers 2015-16

Douglas Deutschman

Cezar Ornatowski
Vice Chair

Marcie Bober-Michel

Allison Bobrow
Administrative Analyst

Associated Students

Associated Students creates, promotes and funds social, recreational, cultural and educational programs and facilities.

The student-directed organization advocates for student interests, provides leadership opportunities and participates in the university's shared governance.

More information about Associated students is available at

Executive Officers 2015-16

Blaire Ward

Leo Carrillo III
Executive Vice President

Tyler Aguilar
Vice President of External Relations

Dominic Bilotti 
Vice President of Financial Affairs

Andrea Byrd
Vice President of University Affairs