Skip To Content
Search Box

The President's Leadership Fund

The President's Leadership Fund


The President's Leadership Fund Excellence Awards recognize the extraordinary work and dedication of our faculty and staff members on behalf of the university. Prospective honorees must be nominated by a supervisor or colleague and exemplify one or more of the priorities outlined in the strategic vision for SDSU, which include:

  • Encourage student success and academic excellence;
  • Contribute to the general welfare and operation of our campus;
  • Create or contribute to academic programs of distinction;
  • Conduct or assist with ground-breaking research or creative endeavors;
  • Support and engage our community; and
  • Inspire innovation or entrepreneurship initiatives


The President's Leadership Fund will be accepting nominations for the 2018 Excellence Awards: TBD


>>> View the PLF Excellence Awards Flyer

>>> Download the PLF Nomination Form for the PLF Excellence Awards

The Excellence Awards committee, comprised of PLF donors, will select three faculty and three staff members to receive a 2018 PLF Excellence Award. Each honoree will receive a $2,500 grant to be used toward their work at SDSU. Award recipients were recognized at a luncheon in May attended by the President and PLF donors.

Congratulations 2017 PLF Excellence Awards Recipients!

Award group

John Francis, Ph.D. 
Karen May-Newman, Ph.D. 
Michael O'Sullivan, Ph.D. 

Mr. Micheal Lester 
Chief Joshua Mays 
Mr. Jose Preciado

grant recipient 

Honorees are nominated by a colleague
and receive at $2,500 grant.