search button
newscenter logo
Saturday, March 23, 2019

Follow SDSU  Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook Follow SDSU on Google+ SDSU RSS Feed

The President's Leadership Fund Faculty and Staff Awards for Excellence winners and representatives stand with SDSU President Elliott Hirshman. The President's Leadership Fund Faculty and Staff Awards for Excellence winners and representatives stand with SDSU President Elliott Hirshman.

Diverse Projects Awarded for Excellence

SDSU President’s Leadership Fund invests in faculty and staff projects.
By Gina Jacobs

Five faculty and staff members received the President's Leadership Fund Faculty and Staff Awards for Excellence. From Latino health to multimedia and wireless networking, the winners represent a diverse sampling of innovative research and intiatives taking place on the SDSU campus every day.

SDSU President Elliott Hirshman awarded $5,000 to the winners at a luncheon Wednesday.  He said each of the award recipients distinguish SDSU through cutting-edge research, superior education and service to the community.

“It is with great pride that we are able to support the great work of our faculty and staff through the President’s Leadership Fund,” Hirshman said. “The continued support of our donors is truly remarkable.”

About the President’s Leadership Fund

The President’s Leadership Fund provides San Diego State with the discretionary resources to underwrite a wide variety of projects that would otherwise go unfunded at SDSU. Over the past 10 years, the President’s Leadership Fund has invested more than $5 million to support new and existing initiatives.

2012 Awardees

The winners of the 2012 President’s Leadership Fund Faculty and Staff Awards for Excellence are:

  • Steven Barlow, associate director, SDSU Electron Microscope Facility, which teaches students and researchers how to use microscopes. Barlow also established a system for K-12 students to access the microscope lab remotely.
  • John Elder, professor, SDSU Graduate School for Public Health and director of the Institute for Behavioral and Community Health, which applies public health research and program evaluation to improve health in underserved communities – particularly Latino health. His funding will help support training of post-doctoral fellows who are Latino or interested in Latino health.
  • Sunil Kumar, associate professor, electrical and computer engineering, established the Multimedia and Wireless Networks Research Group which focuses on technological advances in telecommunications, wireless networks and multimedia systems.
  • Cynthia Park, executive director, SDSU Pre-College Institute works tirelessly to expose K-12 students from under-represented backgrounds to SDSU. Through her efforts, Park builds bridges to local communities through service learning and supporting student success through mentorship.
  • Ming-Hsiang Tsou, professor, geography was honored for his multidisciplinary research that directly impacts the community. For example, Tsou provided interactive web-based mapping services during the 2007 wildfires in San Diego County.

“It is wonderful to receive this recognition and know that the university values the work that I do,” Park said.

A number of PLF donors attended the luncheon and served on the awards selection committee including Lavonne Cashman, Barbara and Jim Hartung and Joaquin Ortega.

Learn more about the President's Leadership here.