Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Strategic Plan

Working group: Entrepreneurial Experiences [Extant]

Goal: Support the university’s entrepreneurial centers to enhance students’ entrepreneurial initiatives
Divisional Reporting: Academic Affairs

Working Group Progress Update:

  • Investments provide support for programs that foster entrepreneurial experiences.  A working group has been formed, utilizing an extant group and adding additional members.  The scope of the center, which now includes representation from all colleges on campus, was expanded to include social as well as more traditional commercial models, under the direction of the Vice President for Research.  Over 50 teams comprised of over 150 participants are now involved in the Zahn Center.  A new Director of Social Entrepreneurism was hired using private funding to help catalyze this area and the HG Fenton Idea Laboratory was created for turning concepts into physical reality through development of early prototypes.  The Lavin Center is continuing to expand its engagement both off and on-campus by providing educational and experiential opportunities through workshops and competitions such as Pitchfest and Lean Model.  A lecture series has been implemented, and the new music entrepreneurship program has been established.

2013/2014 Working Group Report

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view; download Adobe Acrobat Reader. 

Committee Members

Chair:  Stephen Welter, (Chair) Graduate and Research Affairs

    • Susan Baxter, CSUPERB
    • Cathy Pucher, Zahn Center
    • Dennis Cradit, College of Business Administration
    • Martina Musteen, College of Business Administration
    • Nola Butler-Byrd, College of Education
    • Monte Mehrabadi, College of Engineering
    • Randy Reinholz, College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts
    • Stanley Maloy, College of Sciences
    • Tom Coleman, Associated Students Representative
    • Bryce Hamlin, Associated Students Representative
    • Tim Hushen, SDSU Research Foundation
    • Tommy Martindale, SDSU Research Foundation
    • Ben Moraga, Development (University Relations and Development)
    • Alex DeNoble, University Senate Representative
    • Teresa Cisneros-Donahue, University Senate Representative
    • Tim Orlando, Community Member