Page Tools
Descrease font size Increase font sizeText SizesPrint pagePrintBookmark and ShareRSSRSS

’49: Bruce Porteous (social science; ’53 education) celebrated his 95th birthday this year. He has created an endowed professorship in political science at San Diego State.

’58: David Stine (English) was recognized for 21 years of service on the San Bernardino County Board of Education. He is a five-term board president.

’65: Ronald Croatti (public administration), president and CEO of UniFirst Corp., was featured on the CBS television series “Undercover Boss” in January.

’66: David Sleet (psychology; ’68, M.A. kinesiology) received the 2010 Distinguished Fellow Award from the Society for Public Health Education, its highest honor.

’67: Peter Hughes (mechanical engineering) was elected as a fellow of the American College of Construction Lawyers. He recently retired as vice president and chief counsel for CH2M HILL Constructors, Inc.

’72: Nancy Leffert (Masters in Social Work) was named president of Antioch University in Santa Barbara.

’73: Pam Munoz Ryan (child development; ’91, M.A. education) won the Pura Belpre Author Award, which honors work that “best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience,” for her novel “The Dreamer.”

’75: Sandra Brower (psychology) joined the San Diego office of Sullivan and Hill as an of counsel attorney. She specializes in eminent domain litigation.

’76: Jane Bailey (M.A. education) was appointed dean of the School of Education at Post University in Waterbury, Connecticut.

’77: Devorah Lieberman (M.A. speech communication) will take office in July as the first woman president in the 119-year history of the University of La Verne; Jill Nash (journalism) was promoted to senior vice president of global corporate affairs for Levi Strauss and Co.; Leslie Wolf Robb (music) was elected regional councillor for Region IX of the American Guild of Organists.

’78: Bruce Urquhart (geography) deputy district director at Caltrans and a lecturer in civil engineering at SDSU, received the 2010 Pursuit of Excellence in Transportation award.

’82: Col. John Nicholson, USMC-Ret., (political science) was appointed military affairs advisor for North Carolina Governor Bev Perdue. He will lead efforts to develop jobs in the state’s defense economy.

’83: Bob Sullivan (journalism), a.k.a. Sully, recently celebrated 15 years as the co-host of the Big Biz radio show, which debuted on KCEO radio in San Diego.

’84: Kevin McElroy (public administration) has joined Foothill-De Anza Community College as vice chancellor of business services.

’85: Tammy Miller (political science) was appointed to lead the consumer division for the Rhode Island Office of Attorney General.

’86: Scott Gediman (journalism) was named assistant superintendent for public and legislative affairs at Yosemite National Park; Kimberly Harris (political science) was honored as a “2010 woman of influence” by the Puget Sound Business Journal.

’92: Marvin Mizell (sociology) was elected as president of the San Diego County Bar Association for 2012. He is the first African American male to hold the office in the association’s history.

’95: Jill Faucher (public administration) was named vice president and marketing communications manager for California Bank & Trust.

’96: Susan Ali (vocal performance) is Gardner-Webb University’s new assistant professor of voice and opera and director of the Opera Theatre.

’97: David Tonelli (television, film & new media) is associate vice president for communications and public affairs at the California State University, Stanislaus.

’98: Wendy Stewart (M.S. counseling) is dean of counseling and enrollment services at Grossmont College; Tanya Oesterreich (accounting) was certified by the North Carolina State Bar as a specialist in estate planning and probate law.

’99: Dwight Lomayesva III (political science), a member of the Hopi Tribe, was a KPBS American Indian Heritage Month Honoree in 2010.

’03: Katie Hansen (political science, history) is the new chief of staff for San Diego Councilman Kevin Faulconer. LaWana Richmond (business administration) was a 2010 Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action and Diversity Award winner at the University of California, San Diego.

’06: Krystin Williamson (communication, political science) is an account executive at Nuffer, Smith, Tucker.

’09: Donald DeAngelo (M.A. history) was inducted into the San Diego Hall of Champions as a “legend of coaching.” He coached Cathedral Catholic High School’s swimming and diving teams to league and conference titles; Casey Vidovich (biology), a first-year dental student at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, won $123,000 in the Dr. Pepper Million Dollar Tuition Giveaway.

Cheryl Trtan retired as director of programs for the SDSU Alumni Association after 36 years of service.

Designates lifetime membership in the SDSU Alumni Association

Page ToolsDescrease font size Increase font sizeText SizesPrint pagePrintBookmark and ShareRSSRSS
blog comments powered by Disqus


"I Believe" 30 second spot
Wednesday, September 21, 2011
Shot throughout San Diego County, the spot features various community members repeating parts of the "I Believe That We Will Win" chant. Along the way, energy builds as the chant is joined by famous Aztecs such as Ralph Rubio and Mayor Jerry Sanders.

also inside 360 Magazine

Spring 2012 360 Magazine
SDSUniverse welcomes submissions of interest to faculty and staff from all campus areas.