search button
newscenter logo
Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Follow SDSU  Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook Follow SDSU on Google+ SDSU RSS Feed

News Story Image

A Celebration of Diversity at SDSU

The annual Diversity Awards will take place on Wednesday April 27.
By Sabrina Shahawi

The annual San Diego State University Diversity Awards are presented to student organizations, faculty, staff, alumni and community partners for their exemplary contributions to diversity and social justice. The SDSU Diversity Awards serves as an opportunity for the entire university community to come together and celebrate their long standing commitment to diversity.

“The diversity awards are a symbol of our collective efforts to make our university the best it can be. The daily efforts and collaboration of people from across our campus continue to create an inclusive environment for everyone,” said Chief Diversity Officer, Aaron Bruce.

The event highlights and acknowledges corporate and community supporters for their contributions to diversity and social justice.

Diversity Award Recipients

Award recipients demonstrate an exemplary commitment to the SDSU “Shared Vision” goal to “Create a community proud of its diversity and commitment to social justice.”

The following organization and individuals will be honored at the awards ceremony:  

  • Student Organization, Africana Studies Majors and Minors Association.
  • Director of Service Learning and Community Engagement Program, Division of Undergraduate Studies, Jose Preciado.
  • Founder and Executive Director of E3 Civic High School, Helen Griffith.
  • Interim Assistant Director of SDSU Study Abroad, Inemesit "Ine" Williams.
  • Professor and Chair, Department of Women’s Studies, College of Arts and Letters, Huma Ahmed-Ghosh.

More information

The ceremony will run from 3:30 to 5 p.m. on Wednesday, April 27, in Montezuma Hall.

It is free and open to the public, but registration is requested.