search button
newscenter logo
Thursday, December 13, 2018

Follow SDSU  Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook Follow SDSU on Google+ SDSU RSS Feed

News Story Image

Faculty Foster Innovation

Faculty members were recognized with an award for collaboration and innovation.
By SDSU News Team

This year, San Diego State University established the Provost’s Innovation for Excellence Award to honor departments and schools that have, through collaborative effort, implemented a new initiative that has generated momentum toward achieving one or more of the key goals outlined in the university's Strategic Plan, Building on Excellence.

"I would like to express my thanks to these departments and schools and their faculty members as well as to many other deserving departments and schools who were not selected for this year’s awards," said Chukuka S. Enwemeka, Provost and Senior Vice President. "The range of applications we received reflect the ongoing dedication of SDSU faculty across colleges and disciplines."

The 2015-16 winners:

  • The Departments of Political Science and Rhetoric and Writing Studies: Ronnee Schreiber and Glen McClish, chairs, for the development of learning communities to support the success of Compact Scholars in required general education American Institutions and writing courses.
  • The Department of Marketing: George Belch, chair, for the development of a new academic specialization to support students' career goals, establish corporate partnerships for research and increased community engagement for faculty, students and alumni.
  • The School of Nursing: Philip Greiner, director, for redeveloping its nursing major curriculum to support increased student success and improve time to degree.
  • The School of Journalism and Media Studies: Bey-Ling Sha, director, for launching a bilingual media writing initiative that has improved continuation rates, supported the recruitment of diverse faculty and attracted the support of new community partners.
  • The Department of Mathematics and Statistics: Mike O’Sullivan, chair, for a research-based restructuring of its pre-calculus and calculus sequence to ensure the integrity and cohesiveness of the sequence and foster greater student success in STEM disciplines and degree completion.