search button
newscenter logo
Sunday, January 29, 2023

Follow SDSU Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook SDSU RSS Feed

The Monty Awards The Monty Awards

2017 Convocation Faculty Monty Awards

The event kicks off the academic year with the presentation of Faculty Montys.
By SDSU News Team

San Diego State University's annual All-University Convocation is an opportunity to reflect on the university's success and look ahead to the new academic year.

The SDSU community is invited to hear President Sally Roush discuss plans and goals for the 2017-18 academic year at Convocation 2017, beginning at 10 a.m. on Thursday, Aug. 24, in the Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union.

This year’s awards for Outstanding Faculty Contributions, also known as the Faculty Montys, will be presented. The awardees are:

Huma Ahmed-Ghosh is a professor and former chair of the Department of Women’s Studies in the College of Arts and Letters. She has shaped the emerging field of research on Muslim women’s issues and is internationally recognized for her scholarship on Muslim women in South Asia and the diaspora. She is a campus pioneer in transnational and interdisciplinary education, developing 21 courses and teaching 19 of them—all within the span of a decade.

Martina Musteen is a professor in the Fowler College of Business Department of Management. She is faculty director for the SDSU Center for International Business and Education Research (CIBER), through which she received a $1.1 million grant to support faculty research, student internships and study abroad programs. She is senior editor for the Journal of World Business and leads an interdisciplinary, cross-campus project to examine patterns in the internationalization of Fortune 1000 companies.

Douglas Fisher is a professor in the College of Education and chair of the Department of Educational Leadership. He received the Farmer Award in 2014 from the National Council of Teachers of English Leadership and is the incumbent president of the International Literacy Association. His commitment to community service is evidenced by his role in establishing several charter schools in San Diego, including Health Sciences Middle School and Health Sciences High and Middle College.

Satish Kumar Sharma is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. With a background in private industry, he has developed and taught seven courses; advised 46 master’s thesis students and three Ph.D. students; hosted five post-doctoral researchers and visiting professors; and received $1.7 million in extramural research grants. In 2015, he was part of a team that won the prestigious IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society Harold A. Wheeler Prize Paper Award.

Larry Verity is associate dean of faculty and academic affairs in the College of Health and Human Services and currently serves as interim dean. He has developed curriculum for, and taught in, SDSU’s School of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences while serving as chair on more than 65 master’s thesis committees. His efforts have resulted in millions of dollars of grant funding to SDSU from the Centers for Disease Control, the National Institute of Aging and other external organizations.

Lawrence Herzog is a professor of city planning in the School of Public Affairs within the College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts, and also serves as associate director of SDSU’s Center for Latin American Studies. His prolific academic output includes 10 books and more than 60 referred journal articles and book chapters related to U.S.-Mexico border urbanization, globalization, sustainability, and urban design. He has consulted in Peru and Bolivia for the U.S. Agency for International Development.

Chris Rasmussen is a professor in the College of Sciences’ Department of Mathematics and Statistics and a partner in SDSU’s Center for Research in Mathematics and Science Education (CRMSE). A recipient of National Science Foundation funding for research into improving student success in calculus, he was a co-organizer of two conferences on transforming research in undergraduate STEM education. He also serves on a conference board of the National Academy of Sciences’ National Commission on Mathematical Instruction.