search button
newscenter logo
Sunday, June 26, 2022

Follow SDSU Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook SDSU RSS Feed

The California State University The California State University

Reminder: Presidential Search Committee Open Forum Sept. 25

The CSU Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new permanent president of SDSU.
By The California State University Office of the Chancellor

Live stream of SDSU Presidential Search Open Forum

The California State University Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new permanent president of San Diego State University as Sally Roush, appointed in May as interim president of SDSU, serves in this capacity.

The first meeting of the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in an open forum from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 25, in the Parma Payne Goodall Alumni Center Ballroom on the SDSU campus. The open meeting will be followed by a closed meeting at 2:45 p.m.

The purpose of the meeting in an open forum is to review the role of the committee; receive comments and input from the public and campus community; explain the search process and confidentiality; confirm the schedule of meetings; discuss preferred attributes of the next president; review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position; and discuss any other business related to the search process.

Vice Chair of the CSU Board of Trustees Adam Day will chair the committee. The other trustee members include: Silas Abrego, Lillian Kimbell, Hugo Morales, as well as Trustee Chair Rebecca Eisen and CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.

Board policy requires the chair of the CSU Trustees to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus’ constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus - both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one unified group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:
  • SDSU faculty members Donna Conaty, associate dean, College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts, and William Nericcio, Ph.D., professor, English and comparative literature, Latin American studies and Chicano/a studies
  • Marcie Bober-Michel, Ph.D., chair, SDSU University Senate
  • Stephen Welter, Ph.D., vice president of research and graduate dean
  • Cyndi Chie, analyst/programmer (staff representative)
  • Chimezie Ebiriekwe, president, Associated Students (student representative)
  • Alan Dulgeroff (alumni representative)
  • Mary Curran, chair, Campanile Foundation Board of Directors (campus advisory board representative)
  • Community members Margaret Iwanaga Penrose and Jerry Sanders, former mayor of San Diego
  • Willie Hagan, Ph.D., president of CSU Dominguez Hills
Over the next several months, the committee will review applications and conduct interviews.

For more information, visit the Presidential Transition website.