search button
newscenter logo
Thursday, June 1, 2023

Follow SDSU Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook SDSU RSS Feed

Aerial view of San Diego State University's campus. (Photo: Sandy Huffaker Jr.) Aerial view of San Diego State University's campus. (Photo: Sandy Huffaker Jr.)

Outstanding Faculty Awardees to be Honored at All-University Convocation

The recipients will be recognized for their contributions on Aug. 19.
By SDSU News Team

Six San Diego State University faculty members have been selected to receive the 2020-21 SDSU Alumni Distinguished Faculty Awards for outstanding contributions to the university and their respective fields.
The recipients will be recognized by SDSU President Adela de la Torre at the All-University Convocation on Wednesday, Aug. 19, five days prior to the start of classes for the fall semester. 

All-University Convocation, the traditional kickoff to the new academic year, offers the SDSU campus community an opportunity to reflect on the truly exceptional work of faculty and staff, while also looking to the year ahead.

The virtual event will take place from 10-11 a.m., and a link to the event livestream can be found by visiting

"The resolve and resilience of our university community in the face of this year's challenges are perfectly embodied in these year's distinguished faculty award recipients," said de la Torre.

"As we embark on another academic year, their exemplary dedication motivates us to keep striving for excellence, and to transform the lives of our students. As a community, we will demonstrate this same resilience at scale this year: accomplishing the goals in our strategic plan, advancing SDSU Mission Valley, and adding value to our transnational region for generations to come." 

The honorees for 2020-21, their departments and colleges are:
  • Norma Iglesias-Prieto, Chicana and Chicano Studies, Arts and Letters
  • C. Janie Chang, Accountancy, Business
  • Allen Plotkin, Aerospace Engineering, Engineering
  • Mark Reed, Social Work, Health and Human Services
  • Kurt Lindemann, Communication, Professional Studies and Fine Arts
  • Rebecca Lewison, Biology, Sciences