search button
newscenter logo
Tuesday, October 3, 2023

Follow SDSU Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook SDSU RSS Feed

Sickels Plaza (Photo: Scott Hargrove) Sickels Plaza (Photo: Scott Hargrove)

Eight Faculty Members to Receive Awards

The annual award for outstanding contributions will be presented at the All-University Convocation on Aug. 19.
By SDSU News Team

Eight San Diego State University faculty members have been selected to receive the 2021-22 SDSU Alumni Distinguished Faculty Awards for contributions to the university and their respective fields.
SDSU President Adela de la Torre will recognize the recipients at the All-University Convocation at Montezuma Hall in the Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union on Thursday, Aug. 19, a day before the fall semester begins and four days prior to the start of classes.

All-University Convocation, the traditional kickoff to the new academic year, offers the SDSU campus community an opportunity to reflect on the exceptional work of faculty and staff, while also looking to the year ahead.

The event will begin at 10 a.m., with a link to a livestream on the home page.

The faculty awards include an honorarium from the SDSU Alumni Association.

This year’s honorees are:
  •    Anne Donadey, European Studies and Women’s Studies, College of Arts and Letters
  •    Chamu Sundaramurthy, Management, Fowler College of Business
  •    Marjorie Olney, Administration, Rehabilitation, and Postsecondary Education, College of Education
  •    Thais Alves, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
  •    Carol Mackersie, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, College of Health and Human Services
  •    Denitsa Bliznakova, School of Theatre, Television, and Film, College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts
  •    Robert Zeller, Biology, College of Sciences
  •    Mark Wheeler, Interim Dean, SDSU Imperial Valley

The Presidential Staff Excellence Awards, previously announced, can be seen here.