search button
newscenter logo
Thursday, December 7, 2023

Follow SDSU Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook SDSU RSS Feed

Nine SDSU students named winners of the annual Quest for the Best Award Vice Presidential Student Service Award. (SDSD) Nine SDSU students named winners of the annual Quest for the Best Award Vice Presidential Student Service Award. (SDSD)

SDSU’s 2023 Quest for the Best Winners Named

Nine students were recognized for their achievements in academics, community service and leadership.
By Aaron Burgin

Nine San Diego State University students have received the 2023 Quest for the Best award, recognizing high-achieving SDSU students for outstanding performance in academics and community service.


For more than three decades, the annual Quest for the Best Award Vice Presidential Student Service Award has celebrated student achievement in four key areas: academic excellence, student service and activities, community service and leadership development.


Winners are asked to nominate a faculty or staff member who had a significant and positive impact on their personal growth and development during their time at SDSU.


The 2023 honorees and their respective faculty/staff honorees are:





Mikayla Acosta 

Senior, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Giang Pham, CHHS Associate Dean for Research






Wendy Antunez Verbyla

Senior, Child and Family Development; minor in Honors Interdisciplinary Studies

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Dan Bacon, Lecturer in Child and Family Development 





Michelle Hoo

Senior, Biology, with a minor in Honors Interdisciplinary Studies

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Elizabeth Waters, Coordinator, Evolutionary Biology Doctoral Program, Department of Biology





Jazmyn Horton

Graduate student, Masters of Social Work, SDSU Imperial Valley

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Henry Villegas, SDSU Imperial Valley





Natalie King-Shaw

Senior, double majoring in Psychology and Speech Language and Hearing Sciences; minor in Leadership

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Sonja Pruitt-Lord, CHHS Associate Dean for Academic Affairs





Danan Pacheco

Senior, Communications; double minor in Weber Honors Interdisciplinary and Creative Writing

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Kurt Kroeber, lecturer, Rhetoric and Writing Studies 





Michael Rumfola

Senior, Business Marketing and Sustainability.

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Robyn Adams, Associate Director, New Student and Parent Programs





Joy Moore

Senior, Interdisciplinary Studies: Journalism, Psychology and Africana Studies; minor in Counseling and Social Change. 

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Idara Essien-Wood, Assistant Professor, Child and Family Development





Sandy Mekany

Senior, Political Science; minor in Sociology and Honors Interdisciplinary Studies. 

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Christina Brown, executive director of Associated Students