search button
newscenter logo
Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Follow SDSU Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook SDSU RSS Feed

News Story Image

SDSU Holds Second A.C.E. Awards Banquet

The second annual Aztecs Celebrating Excellence Awards honored student-athletes for excellence in their sport and holistic development in the classroom.
By GoAztecs

The second annual Aztecs Celebrating Excellence (A.C.E) Awards were held last week hosted by athletics staff and coaches. The event honored student-athletes for excellence in their sport and holistic development in the classroom.
Throughout the night multiple student-athletes were honored for their various academic achievements, as well as teams were rewarded for their outstanding academic performances as a team this year. Swim and Dive's Alex Roberts and men's basketball's Matt Bradley were awarded Student-Athlete of the Year, while men's golf and lacrosse were honored for having the highest team GPAs.
Other awards handed out to student-athletes and support staff include the All-Aztecs Going Pro Award, which is given to seniors who have exemplified personal growth, career development, and civic engagement throughout their time at SDSU. Jada Moore of track & field  and Aguek Arop of men's basketball earned the award. Additionally, the department handed out the Aztecs Going Pro Resilience Award to Shaquena Foote of track & field and Aguek Arop of men's basketball. The Aztecs Going Pro Resilience Award is given to student-athletes who have improved academically and personally through continuous effort, resilience, and commitment throughout their time at San Diego State.
34 Aztec student-athletes earned the Malik award during the event. The Malik award is awarded to any student-athlete that earned a perfect 4.0 GPA over a semester at San Diego State. Additionally, 372 student-athletes earned scholar-athlete designation. Scholar athlete designation is awarded to a student-athlete who earned either a 3.2 semester GPA or a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. To cap off the night Kristina Murphy of swim & dive and Jack Browning of football were named Scholar-Athletes of the Year.
Department Award Recipients 
Student-Athlete of the Year Award
Alex Roberts, Swim & Dive
Matt Bradley, Men's Basketball
Highest Team GPA (Average of Spring and Fall 2022 Semesters)
Lacrosse (3.52)
Men's Golf (3.04)
All-Aztecs Going Pro Award
Jada Moore, Track & Field
Michael Shawcroft, Football
Aztecs Going Pro Resilience Award
Shaquena Foote, Track & Field
Aguek Arop, Men's Basketball
Scholar-Athlete of the Year 
Kristina Murphy, Swim & Dive
Jack Browning, Football
Newcomer of the Year
Yummy Morris, Women's Basketball
CJ Fodrey, Men's Soccer
Malik Award Recipients
Emily Burd                            Cross Country
Lauren Harper                      Cross Country
Carlene Masar                      Cross Country
Natalie Regalado                  Cross Country
Bailey Watts                         Cross Country
Tiger Yu                                Football
Courtney Anderson              Lacrosse
Caitlin Jones                        Lacrosse
Mia Kohn                             Lacrosse
Camdyn O'Donnell              Lacrosse
Kathryn Wozencroft             Lacrosse
Cailin Young                         Lacrosse
Jaedon LeDee                      Men's Basketball
Steve Sugimoto                    Men's Golf
Joey Kettle                           Men's Soccer
Mathieu Josserand              Men's Tennis
Emily Gebhardt                   Swim and Dive
Samantha Geyer                 Swim and Dive
Kristina Murphy                   Swim and Dive
Klara Thormalm                  Swim and Dive
Avery Turney                      Swim and Dive
Summer Westmoreland     Swim and Dive
Christiana Williams            Swim and Dive
Olivia Zamudio                   Swim and Dive
Carina Clark                      Track and Field
Jenna Fee Feyerabend     Track and Field
Jalyn Harris                       Track and Field
Kennedy Feuerborn          Volleyball
Serena Hodson                 Volleyball
Karli Canale                      Water Polo
Adrina Daniel                    Water Polo
Brooke Lee Romo            Water Polo
Alexandria Von Tersch Pohrer    Women's Tennis
Alicia Melosch                 Women's Tennis