Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

@State - the SDSU Student Newsletter

2013 Quest for the Best Award Winners

This year the “Quest for the Best” Award celebrates its 27th anniversary at SDSU. Quest for the Best was introduced on campus twenty-seven years ago by the former Vice President for Student Affairs, Dr. Daniel B. Nowak.

Today, Dr. James R. Kitchen, our current Vice President for Student Affairs, continues the tradition of the “Quest for the Best” Vice Presidential Student Service Awards by recognizing outstanding student leaders for their achievements in academics, commitment to service, participation in student activities, and the pursuit of personal leadership development. This will be Dr. Kitchen’s last “Quest for the Best” Vice Presidential Student Service Awards, as he has announced his retirement, scheduled for the end of the academic year.

In addition to honoring student leaders, “Quest for the Best” also recognizes student-nominated faculty and staff members for their dedication, mentorship, and genuine concern for the success of their students.


This Year's Honorees

This year's Quest for the Best student and faculty/staff honorees include:


Photo: yousef abraham

Yousef Abraham, Senior, Criminal Justice; Sociology minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Randy Timm, Student Life & Leadership

Photo: alexander arena

Alexander Arena, Senior, Biology and Political Science, Chemistry minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Barbara Huntington, Preprofessional Health Advising

Photo: julia bussberg

Julia Bussberg, Senior, Psychology

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Dr. David Armor, Psychology

Photo: erin fletcher

Erin Fletcher, Senior, Microbiology; Public Health minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Dr. Kelly Doran, Biology

Photo: genaro hernandez

Genaro Hernandez, Senior, Biology; Honors Interdisciplinary Studies minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Maureen Gibbins Paolini, Biology

Photo: lydia keema

Lydia Keema, Senior, Psychology; Sociology, Counseling and Social Change minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Emilio Ulloa, Ph.D., Psychology

Photo: mariah kelly

Mariah Kelly, Junior, Business Administration; English minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Tita Gray, College of Business Administration

Photo: joshua morse

Joshua Morse, Junior, Finance; Political Science minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Josephine Mojica, Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)

Photo: tom rivera

Tom Rivera, Senior, Political Science; Classic Language, Latin minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Dan Cornthwaite, Associated Students

Photo: catherine woods

Catherine Woods, Senior, Psychology; Counseling and Social Change minor

Faculty/Staff Honoree: Veronica Bejar, Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program